The Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) and the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) have announced the hybrid braking zones for the upcoming 2012 24 Hours of Le Mans, held at the Circuit de la Sarthe on June 16-17.   These specifically created ERS zones will allow the Audi R18 e-tron Quattro and Toyota TS030 Hybrid LMP1 prototypes to recover lost energy under braking.

There will be a total of seven zones at the 13.629 km Circuit de la Sarthe Le Mans circuit.  Each zone allows a maximum of 500 kj to be recovered and entry to each zone starts 50 meters before the corner:

  • Zone no. 1: Dunlop chicane (no. 8 marshal’s post)
  • Zone no. 2: Forza Motorsport Chicane (no. 42 marshals’ post)
  • Zone no. 3: Michelin Chicane (no. 60 marshals’ post)
  • Zone no. 4: Mulsanne corner (no. 76 marshals’ post)
  • Zone no. 5: Indianapolis Corner (no. 96 marshals’ post)
  • Zone no. 6: Porsche Corner (no. 115b marshals’ post)
  • Zone no. 7: Ford Corner (no. 131 marshals’ post)

Unlike the two Toyota TS030 hybrids which deliver recovered energy to the rear wheels, the two Audi R18 e-tron Quattro hybrids deliver recovered energy to the front wheels. Because of this, the Audi R18 e-tron Quattro  must be at speeds above 120km/h to release the recaptured energy while the Toyota TS030 has no minimum speeds under the current ACO/FIA rules.

The Speed:Sport:Life team will be on the ground from Circuit de la Sarthe for the 80th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans starting June 9th and will bring you full coverage from scrutineering through the end of the race.

About author View all posts

Zerin Dube

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Speed:Sport:Life

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading